Science and fiction.

Started by gstours, December 20, 2021, 02:16:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

gstours

It seems like a question only I might ponder 🤔
    Especially in a sideways world 🌎
       With the equation of the depth C.   and the line diameter being a constant,  will adding weight A be the equivalent of the sum of A & B  if the desired B weight was needed to be a larger number?
  As a parody stated in the earlier paragraph?   
I'm only focusing on keeping the jig down in this question and not jig action and more ideals.
   Seems that water flow resistance and mass may be greater at first thought 💭,    Butt keeping the bow out of the line is my first thought.   (12 is greater than 8).  How much does the water drag around both A and B when compared to a similar size G (which is the sum of A and B).  Just wondering 🤔🎣

Cor

Hahaha, I don't fish like that and I am not a scientist so don't really know.

Just instinctively some thoughts;

A will probably not exert the same amount of downward pull (I think that will be weight) on the line as it would when hanging straight down.   Caused by some lift created from current or the position of B

Two lures of combined weight equal to one single may have a greater surface area and more susceptible to the effects of the current?

The density of the material used will have a significant effect on this, like 5 flat pieces of stainless steel of equal weigh to one pure lead weight will have a much greater current effect.

Is lure B actually sitting on the bottom?    It may then act like an anchor, or reduce the combined weight of the two lures.

I think the effect of the current on the line may well be greater then the effect of the current on the lure(s) obviously depending on the lengths, diameter and type of line.

I am sure our resident scientist will comment  ??? ???::)