Help me fill in the blanks for a Squidder project!

Started by QuestForMonsterCatfish, June 14, 2022, 11:53:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

QuestForMonsterCatfish

So I'm new to the Squidder and still easily confused by all the model numbers and cross-overs between reel models. With the help of a few folks here a few years ago I worked on a custom Jigmaster write up for a catfishing publication to introduce custom Penns to the freshwater folks. I'm working on doing the same again on a Squidder. I ordered the 146 complete conversion kit from Cortez along with SS sleeve/star. I then picked up a 140 from EBay. I need to get gears but I'm not sure what exact ones I need. I've saw different part numbers claiming to work for the Squidder. I'd like to get a 4:1 if possible but I'm lost on this, or what set available is the strongest. Then I'll be reaching out to order my drag stack next once I pick the gears. Pro challenger spool is on the way as well. Are the factory dogs in these reels steel? If not can they be upgraded? Is there anything else that can be done to beef this little thing up that I am missing?

Squidder Bidder

I don't know about steel AR dogs but there are new old stock steel main gears floating around. I got a few on fleabay a while back.

It makes sense if you are upgrading the sleeve to SS and upgrading the drag stack to one of Bryan's kits to find a steel main gear for your build.

thorhammer

NEVER heard of larger gears for Squidders (not counting magnum) - the gear wells just likely won't accommodate it, or it would've been done!

Swami805

Other than a SS sleeve I don't think there's much around for internals besides stock stuff.  Still a good reel for 20lb
Do what you can with that you have where you are

jurelometer