Cortez squidder copy

Started by mhc, October 02, 2022, 10:03:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mhc

I copied one of Tom's classic frames a while ago to make a XN Cortez classic squidder - this time I have started on a set of side plates to go with the frame.
I've got a few more gadgets in the workshop since I made the frame, I started by picking up X Y coordinates of features on Tom's plate with the spool bearing centre as 0.00 0.00 on the mill DRO.
Used an edge finder for straight surfaces,

And a coaxial indicator for circular holes (shown here with a jigmaster plate)

I'm new to the coaxial indicator, I ended up taking the readings three times and averaging the second two.

Next was to cut a slice of 6061 on the bandsaw,

Clean up the ends, turn to a few mm over thickness and drill and tap a centre hole to hold it

Use the DRO to spot drill hole locations;

I used my home made boring head for the bigger holes,

Roughed out the internal shape using various cutters;

More to come later.

Mike

It can't be too difficult - a lot of people do it.

Wompus Cat

VERY IMPRESSIVE !
Looking forward to updates . Thanks
If a Grass Hopper Carried a Shotgun then the Birds wouldn't MESS with Him

Crow

There's nothing wrong with a few "F's" on your record....Food, Fun, Flowers, Fishing, Friends, and Fun....to name just a few !

pjstevko

Very cool!

What is the intended use of the XN squidder?

Squidder Bidder

The drills down there turn counter-clockwise, right?  ^-^

Wompus Cat

Quote from: Squidder Bidder on October 02, 2022, 03:25:58 PMThe drills down there turn counter-clockwise, right?  ^-^

Only the Toilet Drains and Prop Wash on Single Engine Cessna's
If a Grass Hopper Carried a Shotgun then the Birds wouldn't MESS with Him

mhc

Thanks guys, PJ I don't have a particular use in mind - general bait fishing in estuaries and inshore usually under about 50 - 60 ft, the XN spool holds enough braid and makes line lay easier.