Are lever drag reels not as smooth as star drag reels?

Started by Jenx, February 02, 2023, 05:19:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jenx

So I recently bought a new Fathom 10xnld. This is my first time owning a lever drag reel. I own a few other Fathom SD reels and I have been happy with them all. I have yet to fish with this reel, but I've noticed it's nowhere near as smooth as my other Fathoms. It definitely feels "geary".

Are lever drag reels just not as smooth as star drags, or is there possibly something wrong with my reel? If this where a used reel I would just service it myself to see if that helped, but right out of the box you would think it would already be working as intended.

alantani

the drag washers on the lever drag fathoms might not be evenly greased.  i've seen that several times. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

steelfish

Quote from: Jenx on February 02, 2023, 05:19:12 PM... but I've noticed it's nowhere near as smooth as my other Fathoms. It definitely feels "geary".

Are lever drag reels just not as smooth as star drags, ...

I asked the same question few years ago when I bought my 1st 2-speed leverdrag reel, a fathom 40LD2, I can hear the gears and even a 5# drag there was a minimal resistance on the handle almost nothing but not as free or smooth as on the star drag reels I had used many years, I got the answer here that its just the nature of the beast.
both reels LD and SD have different mechanism and feels different, its something you just have to get used with time.

that or indeed you reel has something wrong  ::)
The Baja Guy

Jenx

Thanks for the responses. It sounds like everything is normal with the reel.

Maybe it will smooth out some when I get the chance to open it up for maintenance.

day0ne

Even new reels need to be serviced. They are not always done properly at the factory.  Just insurance.
David

"Lately it occurs to me: What a long, strange trip it's been." - R. Hunter

jurelometer