Mitchell Saltwater spinners

Started by nook55, January 12, 2010, 08:53:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nook55

Hi all,

I've got a couple of Mitchell spinning reels that are popular with surf fishermen here on the east coast (302, 402).
These things have a single teflon(?) drag washer. Does anyone know if I can replace this with a greased carbon matrix washer for improved performance?

Scott

alantani

absolutely!  measure this one out and and check with your local shop for drag washers and cal's grease.  or send me a pm with your address and i'll send some out to you.  here's the list for comparison. 

http://alantani.com/index.php?topic=21.0
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

qcguy4198

Alan,
I know you don't often post spinner info, I mean...they're upside down and all, but I do have one I've been keeping on the water for over 40 years. I guess I'm just a sentimental slob. The reel is a Mitchell 301. Of course...it has a "story"...This reel, and the "Gulfstream" fiberglass rod is the combo my Dad bought for me when I was a kid. We were heading to Nova Scotia for Salmon fishing. Through the years, I've kept it in use. Have replaced a few parts, etc...but it's still catching fish. I live in  Florida. These days, the reel is loaded the reel with 20# test line. Offshore, it presents no issues. What I've been noticing however...is that inshore ( I recently joined the "plastic Navy")...when I'm using liteweight lures, the line stacks up loosely on the bottom of the spool on retreive...making kind of a "cone". This is especially prevalent when my retrieve is done with very little resistance, say due to wind, drift, or currents. Subsequent casts...sometimes will throw off loops of the line from the bottom of this "cone",which jump over the other line, and create a mess..!!