Cast net tutorial

Started by Cone, March 13, 2014, 04:48:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cone

A while back I promised to show how I make my monofilament  cast nets. I want to apologize for the long delay. I will try to do my best. However, I would appreciate any feedback. If something is not clear please let me know and I will try to clarify it. If I make any mistakes please point them out so they can be fixed.
    I would like to give you a link for a reference.   http://fishnetsa2z.com/   Click on the illustrated Encyclopedia of Cast Nets at the link. This will bring up a Word document. I do things a little differently than the author. The basics are the same.
   I would like to state I am not a professional net maker. I have built my own nets for close to 40 years. I started hand knitting them out of nylon seine twine. When I made my first monofilament panel net, I said I would never knit another one again. I have seen many people say that a person should knit their first net before they build a panel net. I think they must be selling nets because I don't know of a better way to discourage someone from making their own net. The time savings alone is significant.
   There are two kinds of nets used here. Spanish style or "bag nets" and English style or "braille nets". Each has its own advantages and disadvantages. The Spanish nets shine when wading. The end of these are turned under to form a bag. A person can easily reach up inside the net to remove a fish without going back to the beach to dump the net. They can be used from a boat or pier but cannot be emptied as fast as an English net. I used Spanish nets for years but I rarely wade anymore.