Makaira bearings

Started by drewsung, April 01, 2014, 07:08:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

drewsung

I have 3 Makaira SEa reels and really like them.  Grease in the right places, thrust bearing, great drag, and open spool bearings lubed with tsi 301 (among other things).

I have been using tsi 301 for about 3 years and do the usual bearing treatment (remove shields, clean out bearings with carb cleaner, compressed air and tsi lube).  For whatever reason, I can't get free spool like my makaira's and was wondering if I was doing something different than okuma.  Most of the reels I work on are star drag reels (Trinidad/torium) so I know I am up against a few different factors (pinion gear etc.) 

I am able to get around 45 seconds of free spool and have noticed that the free spool 'fades' rather quickly.  Some other observations: frame / spool clearance area does not have any grease, spool tension knob is on the loose side to prevent additional resistance, I have tried 'soaking' cleaned bearings in tsi 301 with no improvement in free spool, I am using standard abec 5 bearings from smooth drag or alan (no ceramic bearings). 

You may ask why I need more than 45 seconds of free spool.  I mostly want as much free spool as possible for my jig reels but I mostly just want to understand why I am not able to replicate Okuma's performance.  The free spool is insane and I see almost no fading.

Bottom line:  can I do anything else to improve free spool? And is okuma doing something secret to their bearings that I don't know about?

Bryan Young