i'm switching to TSI 301

Started by alantani, June 30, 2010, 09:27:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alantani

i still have corrosion x as my totally reliable all purpose lubricant.  i tried reel x and speed x and did not see a big enough improvement to justify the cost.  xtreme reel + is without a doubt the fastest, slickest stuff in the world but just does not last long enough.  jim nomura brought over some TSI 301 and i've been using it for the last 3 months.  i'm am going to use this for a while and see how it goes.  so far, so good.  alan
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

akfish

Doesn't TSI 301 have a problem with plastics? That would make it a no-no on lots of reels...
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

alantani

jim should answer this one, but we've been using it in reels with plastic and there have been no problems.  supposedly the problem is the solvent, and the solvent evaporates quickly. 

Richardr

Hi Alan
Still using TSI 301 for high speed bearings? I've seen different posts here mentioning both TSI 301 and TSI 321 and it is a bit confusing. People are worried for melting plastics with TSI 301, but you haven't seen that happening, right?
I'm thinking of ordering a bottle of TSI 301, thats why I'm asking.
Are you using an "Aerosol-driven" bottle or not?

thanks
Richard

alantani

i'm still using tsi 301.  what i do is clean out the bearings thoroughly, then dip them in tsi 301, then place them on a clean rag to drain out the excess, then install them.  been pretty happy with the results.  alan

alantani

sorry, yeah, i use the canned tsi 301 for dipping bearings and some levelwind assembly parts only.  for anything else, it's back to my trusty old corrosion x.

Pro Reel