Bit buy the Penn bug!!!

Started by txangler81, May 15, 2014, 04:13:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

txangler81

Hello everyone. A little about my self. I am a Penn/conventional reel newbie as well as new to the website. That said I have been bitten hard by the penn bug lol. I have purchased four peer 209s, a peer 309, a peer 109, a peerless 9, an old 500 jigmaster, two 140 squidder, and a 112h. All vintage of course. I do mostly freshwater fishing for catfish, sand bass and crappie. I will also be doing some surf fishing and bay fishing from the bank in Galveston this summer. I guess I'm looking for suggestions on what to use for what type of fishing. I was thinking the 309 the 500 and the 112h would be good for blues and flathead cats, 209s and squids for channel cats, the 9 and 109 for sand bass, the 500 squids and 112h for surf fishing, and the others to use casting in the bay. also what test line would you recommend for each one. Thanks for y'alls help.

Bryan Young

Welcome TX.  I'm not exactly sure what to use for your type of fishing,  but your lineup sounds great.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Shark Hunter

Welcome Tex!
Be careful! The penn bug is alive and well Here! I use to be a Freshwater fisherman for many years. I caught my First Shark. Sold My Boat and started buying Senators!
I would keep it simple. 20lb mono on the smaller reels and 30 on the 500 and 112H.
Life is Good!

DaBigOno

Aloha!  Welcome Tex

Sounds like you got a nice quiver of reels!
Ua Mau ke Ea o ka Aina i ka Pono

alantani

send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Dr. Jekyll - AKA MeL B

uh oh! bitten by the P-bug(ger), welcome to the "neighborhood"...

txangler81