New Member 1st Rebuild Penn 12/0 Parts To Order & Chrome Refinishing

Started by rakempe, October 19, 2010, 06:32:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rakempe

I am new to the board and I will be rebuilding my first reel soon. I am rebuilding an older penn 6/0 and 12/0. I had a few questions relating to the build.

1. What parts are recommended to order/replace? From my research, I need to order bearings, main gear, drag washers, washer spacer under main gear, metal washer set, and possibly the dog/dog spring. Is this correct and is there anything I am missing? Are bearings essential and necessary?

2. My second questions deals with refinishing the chrome. What is better and more durable...re-chroming it or powder coating? And, should I also have the spool done? I am new to this, but I had concerns if I coated the spool that there would be some rubbing/clearance issues between the spool and side plates.

I appreciate the help in advance!

Bryan Young

Are you planning to use the reels or put it on the shelf to look at?
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Norcal Pescador

Quote from: rakempe on October 19, 2010, 06:32:20 PM
I am new to the board and I will be rebuilding my first reel soon. I am rebuilding an older penn 6/0 and 12/0. I had a few questions relating to the build.

1. What parts are recommended to order/replace? From my research, I need to order bearings, main gear, drag washers, washer spacer under main gear, metal washer set, and possibly the dog/dog spring. Is this correct and is there anything I am missing? Are bearings essential and necessary?

2. My second questions deals with refinishing the chrome. What is better and more durable...re-chroming it or powder coating? And, should I also have the spool done? I am new to this, but I had concerns if I coated the spool that there would be some rubbing/clearance issues between the spool and side plates.