140 Squidder

Started by Mattman NZ, February 18, 2015, 06:50:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mattman NZ

Hi everyone - I bought this reel of one of our local auction sites and when taking it out from its home to give it the once over inspection I found theres no embossing - picture on the tail plate end of the reel. I've never seen one like this before .
Matt...

And a close up of the tail plate .

Bryan Young

Very nice.  Not all Penns had designs on the sideplates.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Alto Mare

Matt, everything checks in as a penn side plate. I'm betting someone sanded it down to make it unique :-\
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

George4741

I have a Jigmaster without any embossing on the tailplate.  There's no evidence of sanding.  So, I wouldn't be surprised if there are at least a few unmarked tailplates on Jigmasters and Squidders.

viurem lliures o morirem

Mattman NZ

Thanks guys I've had a closer look and there are definitely no sanding marks on the plate - and its just not smooth enough so think its came out of the mold just like it is. I managed to get a good pic of the plate on an angel to the light.  ;D

All good another Penn reel that's different in my growing collection.
Matt...

Alto Mare

Matt, I have a few of the Jigmaster's plates as George is showing, yours is the first I've seen. Let's see what the pros have to say.

Sal
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

Maxed Out