Cleaning Drive Gear

Started by MudShark7, March 05, 2015, 06:42:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MudShark7

I have searched but cannot find the answer to this question.
How do you best clean the teeth in the Drive Gear and Pinion Gear - It looks like residue that the toothbrush won't flick out.
Also, there is obviously residue from the drag material or little black pits? that isn't coming off with normal cleaning by me.
I'm not sure the surface where the drags run is super important but wouldn't the bottoms of the drag teeth be?
Also, the gear teeth are not really smooth. I'm new to reel cleaning but it would seem to me that smoother teeth would mesh together nicer.
Can anybody shed light on this for me?

Ken ???
Remember! - You're Unique, Just like Everybody Else!

Bryan Young

I also use carb cleaner or soak in acetone and swirl around or place the bottle with the acetone and gear in an ultrasonic cleaner.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

MudShark7

Thanks, Bryan. Does that treatment easily remove all the drag residue and get all of the old grease out of the teeth without scrubbing by some means? The toothbrush seems to do nothing hahaha

Bryan Young

It does...sometimes...sometimes I think it's just stuck in there and nothing can get everything out.
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

MudShark7

Shark Hunter

I use the brake clean and a toothbrush. A quick soak in coleman fuel will clean them right up too.
Life is Good!

alantani

a bunch of old toothpicks should do the trick. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Tightlines667