Newbie here! Rec's on reels for So. Cal

Started by EL JEFE, November 24, 2010, 05:58:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EL JEFE

Hello All-
New to site.  Alan, you've done a great job with this site!

My questions are for reel recommendations for fishing Southern California.  I started fishing about 10 years ago, so I am far from being very experienced.  I fish from my own boat and usually fish from LA down to SD (points in between), Coronado Islands, Catalina Island, Clemente Island, and inshore along the coast,  My range is about 50 miles offshore.......within 50 miles and I am there!

So, not to break the bank, I would like to get some new reels (that are not $500 each!) for my above mentioned uses.  I am considering the following set ups listed below.  My preference is new, unless I can find some well cared-for used reels.  I currently have Daiwa Sealines (15 and 20 that are about 15 years old)) for #1 and #2 below, TN30 for #3 below, and an Avet Pro EX 40/0 for trolling.  I also picked up a new Penn 555MagGS a couple of years ago but haven't really put it to use seeing is it very close to the TN30 in terms of size/specs.

I have never used Newells or smaller Avets, so I am unfamiliar with these.  I do read a lot about them (pros and Cons).  

1.  10-15lb set up for inshore and Catalina/Clemente Calico Bass, Sand Bass, Barracuda (live bait and plastics)

2.  15-20lb set up for Yellowtail/WSB (live bait)

3.  20-30lb set up for larger Yellowtail, WSB, Tuna (live bait, iron)

4.  20-30 lb jig set up

5.  Something to cast some iron with an 8-9 foot rod (#4?).

Any other set ups that you can recommend would be great.  

BTW - just informed of Black Friday specials......Trinis $199.99, Saltists, $119-$139, Tyrnos 2 spd $179-$219

Thanks!

alantani