Which model/sudmodel Jigmaster is this???? What are the necassary upgrades?

Started by pjstevko, March 15, 2015, 09:41:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pjstevko

Hi my name is PJ Stevko and I'm a new resident to Central Cali (Sequoia National Park) who moved from Florida. I was big into all sorts of fishing in Florida and am hoping to do a little here in Cali.

I'll be fishing from head/party boats and want to get into vertical/yo-yo jigging. I'll only be able to go a couple times a year so spending a lot of $$$ on gear isn't in the cards right now. That being said I picked up a Jigmaster 500 for $10 at a yard sale and sent it to my reel repair guy who said it was in perfect shape and that the drag washers still had a lot of crosshatch on them. I know from checking out this site that there are a bunch of different models and submodels and I was wondering anyone could tell me exactly what model I have?

I was also wondering what upgrades would be necessary to make this into a good reliable vertical/yo-yo jigging reel for rockfish and lingcod?

Thanks for helping out a newbie to the site!

PJ

Aiala

Looks like your basic solid, reliable, altogether excellent Jigmaster 500... with an aluminum spool, which is perfect. Ten bucks for something that good is a steal. Welcome to CA, and go get 'em!   :)

~A~

P.S. Of course you can find ways to spend an almost unlimited amount of $$$$ adding upgrades and bling (Reelhead "Pennicitis"), but it isn't strictly necessary.  ;)
I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it!  :D

john2244

I think you will be very happy with your jigmaster 500 for fishing rock cod. Over the last 10 years I have experimented with 10 to 12 different reels, with various gear ratios,  for fishing rock cod. The last couple of years I have settled on using a couple of jigmaster 501's. The 501 is a narrow version of your 500. 
John

foakes

Hi PJ --

The Jigmaster is one of the finest, most dependable reels out there.