Rod tip replacement question

Started by esgeo, March 23, 2015, 05:07:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

esgeo

Hello.  I just joined the community a few weeks ago and have a question.  I am new to the business of rod and reel repair, so I figure this one will be pretty simple, but wanted to get some good advice.  I appreciate anyone's time in offering some guidance!

A few days ago I picked up a Daiwa Apollo 1672 6'6, 20-40#, 8-16oz lure weight, extra heavy conventional rod at an estate sale for $5.  The rod looked to be in reasonable shape, other than some damage to the foam at the butt, compression of a few of the aluminum threads on the reel seat, and a rough groove worst possible spot on the tip.  The rest of the guides are undamaged and still solidly wrapped on the blank.

I removed the tip today using a lighter, so that I could measure the diameter of the tip and order a replacement.  Much of the outermost layer of fiberglass beneath the tip is quite frayed, and there is thread wrapped at the base of where it is frayed.  It is my assumption that this wrap at the base of the tip is to keep the fiberglass fray from extending further down the rod.

So, I am somewhat at a loss of what to do next.  I was thinking there is likely some sort of fiberglass repair epoxy I could coat the frayed part of the rod with, let this cure and smooth it down with some sort of sandpaper, then measure diameter and procure a new tip to attach.  Another option would be to cut the tip shorter (probably below the wrap) and attach a slightly larger diameter tip, but I prefer not to do this.  Also, given the nature of the fiberglass being somewhat compromised, are there recommendations for what epoxy one would use in this situation to secure the new tip?

I figure this is a pretty common issue, and although there is not a lot at stake financially, I would be grateful to get any feedback/advice on how to proceed.  Thank you very much.  I've attached a few photos.     

Newell Nut