PRO GEAR 545

Started by STRIPER LOU, April 10, 2015, 11:42:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

STRIPER LOU

Hi All, a few months ago I passed a mint 545 pro gear cause it had no clicker. Obviously we don't see many of them here on the east coast. A friend of mine purchased it and I serviced it for him. My first impression and I am far from an expert but consider many on this forum to be, this is an amazing reel. So, I was lucky to find one for myself. Slightly larger in size than the jigmaster, smaller than a 3/0 and the guts and drag of a 4/0 just as Brian Young had explained to me. What more could you possibly ask for?
Well, if you added SS double dogs, SS gears and sleeve and a SS drag wheel it would be about perfect to me. I love my jigmasters and use them often but they just don't seem to stand up to my style of fishing. My go to reel has been the penn 113h and for the price this reel has been unbeatable. This board has made me interested in hot rodding reels and I truly appreciate all the info available here and all the expert guidance I have recieved.
My question is how did this guy go out of business?
He basically did 90% of the hot rodding for us. I'm beyond pleased with this reel and I understand its not perfect but to me its pretty darn close.
I be interested in anyone's comments or opinions on this piece of equipment!!!!!
Thanks in advance, ....   Lou
By the way, this reel is pretty darn clean. To make it cherry would only require a new bearing cap. Guess some people have trouble picking out the correct size screw driver. If anybody has one of these please be so kind to contact me.

Alto Mare

You're right Lou, those are nice reels. In the past, we didn't do maintenance as we do today and somehow those didn't like the salt very much, this was what I've experienced anyway.
Today, the way we do pre service and routine maintenance, that would not be a problem anymore.
I like them myself.

Sal