349 - 2 +1 dogs on the bridge

Started by mhc, May 08, 2015, 03:37:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mhc

I was impressed with how easy it is to install the Pro Challenger double dog jigmaster bridge with both dogs on the bridge and thought I would try something similar with a 3-349 bridge.
This is my first attempt with brass dogs - designed for alternating dogs, but it would be easy to adjust the dog lengths and/or post location to make it simultaneous engagement. The second dog was shaped from a stock 15-349 dog that I had ruined in a previous project, the second spring is a reshaped 14-349 spring (that needs a 1/4 or so trimmed off the end) and the posts were made from brass screws. using a drill and file to 'turn' them to size. I haven't cleaned the bridge to make it easier to see the contact areas between the side plate and bridge. The next step is to get some more of Keta's stainless dogs and try and do it neatly  ;D

It's a bit hard to see the black plate clearly, but the 2nd spring clears the plate and spool when extended.

It can't be too difficult - a lot of people do it.

sundancer

Nice work.

There are a couple of threads on double-dogging 349's.

What are the reasons for going doing this? 

Thanks
Steve
Miles to go.....,

mhc

With alternating dogs it reduces the amount of backplay or travel in the handle. If you have simultaneous engagement it increases the strength by supporting the gear on both sides to reduce lateral force or tilting effect on the post. It also gives a back-up dog if one gets stuck or hung up for whatever reason. 

Rothmar2

mhc