Penn GS 555 Drag & Anti Reverse Questions

Started by Andrew886, May 14, 2015, 01:48:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andrew886

Hey guys,
I picked up a number of used reels over the winter, one of which was this Penn GS 555.  I plan to use it as a kite reel or find another low usage purpose for it once I get it back in order.  The drag was cranked down tight when I picked it up and seems to pull drag off fairly easily.  So I plan to replace the drag washers.  I'm new to reel maintenance so not sure if I should go Carbontex washers or just go with standard fiber washers sold by Penn?  Its the old style gear housing btw if that makes any difference.

Second question is the anti reverse feature of the reel seems to be shot.  I tried a quick greasing of internal parts before finding this site and it seemed to improve, but I'd say for every stop of the reel it slides back an 1/8 rotation.  What do I need to replace here or should I be doing to correct this issue? 

Sorry for the Naive questions, but brand new to this and would like to learn how to handle my own maintenance as I have tons of fishing reels.

Thanks in advance!

Andrew

MarkT

Penn and Carbontex are both woven carbon fiber so either is fine. A little back play is normal since the 535/545/555 don't have an anti-reverse bearing. Both my 545 & 535 have that backlpay. The smaller 525's do have an ARB and don't have that backlpay in the handle.
When I was your age Pluto was a planet!

Andrew886

Thank you Mark!  Guess I'll just have to live with the back play.

So help me understand, the advantage of carbon fiber drag washers is that their more durable (less susceptible to compression), handle heat better, and put out more lbs of drag?

foakes

Right, Andrew --

Remember to grease the CFs or HT-100s from Penn with Cal's drag grease.