Great Striper day, thanks to logbooks!

Started by STRIPER LOU, July 07, 2015, 03:16:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

STRIPER LOU

Paulie and I got out yesterday morning. I've been keeping notes and logbooks for over 40 yrs. Is it worth the bother? ABSOLUTELY!!!! The logs show that fishing this area near the dates logged, Time, temps, and tide had brought excellent success on many, many, trips. Other entries I looked at for different area's not so good. The log gives you the ability to understand fish patterns and definitely contributes to your overall success. Date, time, temp, area, moon stage, water temps, type of bait seen, lures used, fish caught, and fishes stomach content are some of the things I record. After a while you can decide what info is important and eliminate others that are not. Using a highlighter on key info also helps for quick reference. It has also helped me figure out when and where the squid and other baits arrive and that way I'm using the appropriate lures.

Paul is a great fisherman and owns 2 boats. At times it can be difficult to get him to be serious about what he's doing but the ole boy was A OK today. Other than showing up late and I told him if I had missed this tide I would beat him with his own fishing rod!  ( had been waiting almost a month for all things to align in this area)
We called it quits after an hour and a half with 5 fish and a few HOGS all caught on the homemade Slope Head Swimmers.
Suspended red weed has really been a problem. Best approach is to find the fish, get slightly up tide, and let the line out. There were times in the morning we didn't even get 30 seconds before the plug was loaded up with weed.
Back at the dock early, pizza for breakfast, a good BS session, and on our way home before 10am.
By the way the big girl had a 10" flounder half way in her gullet and still smashed the plug!