Daiwa SL20SH rebuild drags and handle.

Started by Phishface, August 13, 2015, 05:09:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phishface

Hi

I bought the SL20SH upgrade kit a few years ago and I'm in the middle of finely doing the conversion.
I have some questions, is it worth doing the carbontex drag washer upgrade? The drags in the reel look like there in decent condition, what would the upgrade gain me?
The handel is a little trashed, my buddy gave me the reel after punishing it for 8 years because he lost a big tuna on it, the handle took the brunt of the punishment. Where can I get a handle upgrade for the SL20SH?

Thank you guys.

Rancanfish

I can't comment on the handle because I have no knowledge, but the Carbontex upgrade is great.

I use them even on the Levelmatics. Is it needed? Probably not. But it has such a smooth start up. I also have the regular Ht-100's in one. I believe it's almost as smooth.  I will be using the Carbontex drags in the future exclusively.  I don't need an increase in drag power as much as the silky non-jerky drag in any of my reels.

Hope that helps.
I woke today and suddenly nothing happened.

LTM

If your willing to do the frame upgrade, then you'd be remiss in not upgrading to cf drags. You can use the handle to the new diawas (SL-X, Big Game, Saltist).

Leo

Phishface

Thank you both for your reply, yes it helps, allot, and your right Leo It would not be right to spend the time and effort rebuilding this reel and not upgrading the drags as well. I'll look into the handle you've suggested.

Thank you again,

Jerome.

SoCalAngler

I upgraded the drags in my sl20sh conversion and added a Tiburon T-Bar Lite handle.

Edit: I also replaced the bushing on the right side of the spool with a bearing hoping for better freespool but I did not gain much by doing so. Would I look to do this again? No, but since I was inside the reel already I gave it a shot.

MarkT