Newell 229-F Now what?

Started by swbouton, September 15, 2015, 12:51:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

swbouton

I have inherited a Newell 229-F reel from a friend.  I am not familiar with bait casting reels, but I've been fishing with spinning reels for more than 60 years.

I find the drag too light on the Newell.  The star wheel doesn't do much although the reel seems to operate perfectly otherwise.

I am looking for information about this reel, especially how to make the drag tighter.  Any recommendations?

Thank you.

Dominick

Welcome SW.  I don't know the first thing about a Newell.  As a matter of fact I never even saw one.  There are several Newell fans that will jump in and give you some advice.  Good luck.  Dominick
Leave the gun.  Take the cannolis.

There are two things I don't like about fishing.  Getting up early in the morning and boats.  The rest of it is fun.

thorhammer

229 is a great caster. If Dwight (Newell Nut) doesn't chime in, pm him. It's quite possible your reel is twenty plus years old and simply needs service and a new drag stack to perform another 20.

John

bluefish69

Does the reel have a letter before the Number? Newell's are very easy to service. If you want a small reel that will stop a truck get Bryan Young's 5+1 drag stack. The normal 3 Stack Carbon Fiber [part # 6-309] is also good but you will need a Thrust Washer. For this contact Dawn at Smooth Drag & she will fix you right up.

Mike
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

Newell Nut

Quote from: swbouton on September 15, 2015, 12:51:22 AM
I have inherited a Newell 229-F reel from a friend.  I am not familiar with bait casting reels, but I've been fishing with spinning reels for more than 60 years.

I find the drag too light on the Newell.  The star wheel doesn't do much although the reel seems to operate perfectly otherwise.

I am looking for information about this reel, especially how to make the drag tighter.  Any recommendations?

Thank you.