Cod and haddock in the Arctic, Spitzbergen, Svalbard

Started by esgeo, September 15, 2015, 07:30:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

esgeo

I unexpectedly got to participate in a style of fishing totally new to me about a week ago and wanted to share some stories and pictures from the experience.  While working on my graduate degree in geology over the past 5 years or so, I have somehow finagled my way into a consortium of scientists who work on understanding the basic geology of the Arctic.  I have known for several years that the capstone experience of the consortium was going to be a trip to Svalbard, which is probably the closest "first-world" outpost to the north pole.  The trip ended up happening this year during the first week of September, and involved one day of presentations in a hotel in the town of Longyearbyen on the island of Spitzbergen, followed by a ship based excursion to learn about the geology of Svalbard. Without getting into too much detail, I had set my expectations low for the ship-based part, and was remarkably pleased and surprised by the quality of the whole experience.