Yamaha Grease

Started by speedwell, January 13, 2011, 08:52:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

speedwell

I have searched all over but no joy. I have attained two small tubes of Yamaha grease. Everything on them is in Japanese except the label "Yamaha Grease - Water Resistant Grease P/No 90890-69910". The grease is an opaque pale orange and the consistency of white Lithium Grease. I am told it is Yamaha Grease A and commonly used on outboards. Can it be used in the same fashion as the blue "Marine Grease"?
Thanks.

alantani

i really don't know.  honestly, i've been using the blue yamaha marine grease for 10 years and really like the stuff.  i'm sure there are alot of products that are just as good.  i simply do not have a 10 year track record with any of them.  since you've got it already, i'd say use it and let us know if you have any problems down the line.  you really should be fine.  alan
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

speedwell

Thank you for your prompt reply Alan. The grease in question is called up in all sorts of Yamaha outboard repair manuals (as Yamaha Grease A), particularly for seals and splines. Can't hurt and it was cheaper than Hot Sauce so we will give it a whirl and report back. My stuff gets three solid weeks of beatings on the Cape Cod Canal and in the Cape surf beginning each May and ending in September so it will see some severe use.(I am the Canadian Ditch Troll).
Best Regards
Speedwell

nathanbrand

Hey Alan,

Based on your recommendation (as well as others) I went looking for some Yamaha Marine Grease,
and in Massachusetts, it has been impossible to find. I tried a few marinas that were official Yamaha dealers as well as a few hardware stores. They had some Yamaha lubes, but not the marine grease. It would be nice if we could get some of the local tackle shops to carry it...

Do you know of any national chains that may deal in this stuff? If not, do you have a second or third recommendation, if I don't find it?