Chuyo 1800

Started by Igor Peric, November 10, 2015, 08:50:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Igor Peric

Chuyo 1800, Japan made... Any idea what it's worth...and how to find a handle for this reel? :-\

and

Steve-O

Not sure how much yours is worth ...but down in Brasil, they seem to be worth between $800 and $1300. USD based on the two I saw for sale online.

I'm no reel expert, but I personally feel the market may be quite small for Chuyo reels. Kind of like the Dolphin/Olympus brand.   A Penn knockoff style with stainless internals but no market value.

My Dolphin reel is a Penn 309 clone and  would not bring $20 on eBay nor FREE on here. So I pitched it. The handle would probably fit your Chuyo if you're interested. I can dig it out of the trash in the man cave. Let me know...I dump my bin each Saturday.

At a guess Chuyo and Dolphin reel brands were part of the "let's rebuild Japan's economy after WWII"  campaign. So before " made in China"  there was " made in Taiwan" for a decade or two.

Before that was "Made in Japan" and limited "made in Germany".

Hopefully, this reply isn't too depressing or a big let down.  It's perhaps close but still conjecture mixed with a 2 minute web search. ::) ;D

Igor Peric

Steve-O

Thanks for the information ... A friend got it from Germany :) And , hi wants to repair it, but hi was not sure it is worth of it.

Igor

Steve-O

Send me your address and I will send you the handle and screws. They just might fit.

I sent you a PM.

Steve

Igor Peric

Igor Peric

Thanks to Steve O, Chuyo 1800 is on the road again ;)

Steve-O

Whaaaaat?!?   You mean to tell me that the Dolphin/Olympus/Penn 309 Clone reel handle, nut and retaining screw that I sent you actually fit?!?

Wow!  Made my day, Igor. I did have my doubts but was feeling lucky for you.