Abu Garcia Revo Inshore vs Daiwa Lexa Hd300

Started by striperpirate24, December 15, 2015, 04:56:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

striperpirate24

Hey guys, my name is Dane and I am a tenth grader in high school. I am new to calico bass fishing and the forum and I wanted to get a nice reel for a good price. You all seem very knowledgable and I was wondering if you could help me on deciding whether to get an Abu Garcia Revo Inshore, a Daiwa Lexa Hd300, or another reel that I could probably pair up with a medium power, x-fast action casting rod. On the reel I will probably put on 30 lb braid and a top shot of 14 lb mono, but I am open to new ideas!

Thanks,
                                                Dane

Dr. Jekyll - AKA MeL B

Accurist PT by Quantum for a $100 reel i'll consider this one. check this out;

tight lines!

I'm a Abu nut and I really want to like the Revo's, but I don't.  Their finish evaporates by merely looking at it.  Their proclaimed high drag settings fade quickly.  They have great comfortable grip handles.  I've had a Premier, an STX, an SX and an S. The S was the most recent and it lasted better than the more expensive ones but I couldn't cope with their idea of a centrifugal brake.  I have no experience with the bigger models so popular for Calico's and Sandie's.  I had a Lexa 100 and have regretted getting rid of it since the moment I gave it to a friend.  I wouldn't hesitate on getting another but the Tatula I replaced it with is terrible.  The t wing levelwind eye just cannot find use with leader knots or a knot you would use for a longer top shot.  I'm too cautious to try a Lew's Inshore wide spool as its really just a Revo that went out a different back door of the factory with a different name on it.  But I often wonder if its finish is better.  I'd stick with the Lexa if I were you.  Good luck Calico fishing looks to be a blast.

striperpirate24

Thanks so much for the help 0119 and potiguar!!

Bryan Young