Cleaning graphite...

Started by Aiala, February 14, 2016, 05:17:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aiala

Quick question: Is it safe to soak graphite parts (in my case a 440SS housing) in full-strength Simple Green? 

Thanks!   :)

~A~
I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy every minute of it!  :D

PacRat

I'm no expert on graphite but I would caution against soaking it based on Alan's tutorial on Charter Specials. Some graphite frames have a tendency to swell. At the very least I would limit the soak time to just long enough to loosen the gunk. I know I've made this mistake by soaking Penn Bakelite endplates that have swelled enough that I had difficulty re-fitting the trim rings. Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in.
Mike

mizmo67

I've never soaked a graphite housing, just hand cleaned them.

Simple Green isn't really corrosive so short term it might be fine?

I don't know if it will affect the decal or cause discoloration, though.
~Mo

Maureen Albertson :)
Scott's Bait & Tackle / Mystic Reel Parts (Formerly PennParts.com)
Contact Me Via Store Website Please!
Orders/Support# +1 (609) 488-4637 (parts ordering or troubleshooting)
customerservice@mysticparts.com

bluefish69

I know the hard way from soaking Newell's to long that the white name & such will wash away. Never had one swell.
I have not failed.  I just found 10,000 ways that won't work.

FatTuna

Good question. I having been meaning to ask others what they are doing. I got a spray bottle of Corrosion X that I have been using with a tooth brush. Not sure if that is a good for the graphite but it seems to work. I used to use WD-40 with a tooth brush with also worked but I since have decided that it might damage something. 

Alto Mare

I can't tell you about graphite reels, I got rid of all of mine a few years ago ;D.  I have soaked plastic
composite parts for 5 minute in Simple green and had no issues.