Penn 349H Master Mariner conversion to a Newell Wahoo Special

Started by jason_purdy, February 20, 2016, 12:15:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jason_purdy

I'm calling on the collective knowledge of all you great minds out there.  I've gotten my hands on a 349H and (optimistically) I'd like to convert it to a Wahoo Special with a Newell kit.  First question, as I'm fairly new to this, is this beyond my skillset?  The maintenance tutorials help me feel confident, but I don't fully know what I'm in for.  Next question, as the Newell kits are increasingly tough to find, any pointers on where to look (and how much I might spend)?  I contacted Mr. Pauly with Vintage Offshore Tackle, but I'm afraid I won't be anywhere near the West Coast (I'm in DC) for the upcoming Long Beach Fred Hall Show.  Lastly, any other pointers?  Thanks in advance.

-Jason

RowdyW

The conversion is easy, all you mainly need is the spool, stand, & cross bars. All of it is just bolt on. Just keep searching ebay, craig's list, VOT, etc. Sometimes you can locate a complete reel. I don't know what the value is but I got mine on ebay for $55 about a year ago. But I think that was slightly on the cheap side.    RUDY

Keta

You will want to convert the drag stack to a Smooth Drag 5 washer stack,  a Stainless steel  113H gear sleeve will work on a 349 bridge and stainless AR dogs are available.
Hi, my name is Lee and I have a fishing gear problem.

I have all of the answers, yup, no, maybe.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain

RowdyW

OR you could build a 113H Tank that will outdo any 349h with or without mods.

Keta

I have them both and prefer the stock width 349H over my Tank for deep water halibut fishing.  To really gain much strength you have to step up to a narrow frame 114H.  My narrow 114H reels are the same width as my 349H Wahoo Special.

A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way.
Mark Twain