temporary rod wrap epoxy

Started by q3fishboy, April 15, 2016, 09:39:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

q3fishboy

I am pretty new to rod wrapping but have played around with it a little bit.

Have a couple of rods that I have re-wrapped but not coated in epoxy/flex coat yet.

Not entirely satisfied with them and debating re-wrapping them again, but want to fish them for now.

Is there any sort of flex coat type product that I could coat them with but remove relatively easily?

In the past I have done a couple guides where I just fished the rod without any coating on the thread.

However, this particular rod seems like the guides near the tip are moving significantly without any coating.

I thought the wraps were fairly tight, but maybe not tight enough?

Thanks a bunch.

Newell Nut

The U 40 permgloss would be easy to brush on and dries fast and would seal the threads. Easy removal later. Do about 3 coats since it goes on really light like water but is very durable.

Marcq

You have to be careful with Permagloss, it's nasty stuff to breathe

Marc..

cbar45

Are you just wanting to fish the rod once before you re-wrap? If so, you really don't need anything covering the thread. Perhaps a few wraps of tape to reinforce those loose guides, and you are good to go. Of course, some care must be taken not to abrade the thread to the point that the wrap unravels, but the chance of that happening in one trip is relatively low.

If you were hoping to see whether or not epoxy finish would strengthen the loose guide wraps, the answer is yes/no; Yes, in that the guides might end up feeling like they are locked in place. No, in that the tension of the thread binding the guide to the blank does not change. Thus the guides can, in time, work themselves loose again--and then you are back to square one. The quote "Anything worth doing, is worth doing right" comes to mind here, and in all likelihood is the sentiment that led you to consider a re-wrap.