I NEED ADVICE ABOUT ULTRA SONIC CLEANERS

Started by Dominick, May 09, 2016, 10:55:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dominick

Hi everyone.  I ordered an ultra sonic cleaner which should be here this week.  I am a newbie when it comes to this manner of cleaning.  My question is a general one.  What are the things I need to know?  Warnings-do or don't.  Generally how to.  May I put a whole reel in the cleaner without taking it apart?  Will the cleaner affect the plastic plates?  That kind of thing.  Also how does one clean the silverware without ruining them.  The cleaner has a built in heater and timer.  I will read the instruction manual but I expect that the AT members that use an ultra sonic cleaner will have some advice.  Come on load me up with information.  Dominick
Leave the gun.  Take the cannolis.

There are two things I don't like about fishing.  Getting up early in the morning and boats.  The rest of it is fun.

foakes

Hi Dominick --

You may get a few different opinions ranging from exotic cleaning mixes to combinations to multiple step processes to just use a toothbrush and kerosene etc...

This is just the way I do it for 90% of jobs --

Assuming you bought a professional model with enough power electronically to get the job done -- SS tub, not plastic -- heat not needed, just another something to go out. 

I just use plain water in the reservoir -- then 2 or 3 wide mouth glass or plastic jars inside the unit.

This way I am not wasting expensive cleaning supplies.  Just use a second hand pasta collander set to strain the mix and parts into (SS is best).  Then just pour the bottom pan with the cleaning solution back into the wide mouth jar.  It is easy to get 15 cleanings or so -- without changing the mix -- depending on how bad the reels are.