Strange handle side spool grinding

Started by AlcoholicFisherman, May 19, 2016, 05:33:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AlcoholicFisherman

I'm currently fixing up my friend's old beat up 209 previously owned by a rather peculiar fellow who seems to have just short of destroyed the reel.

After cleaning, replacing all of the bearing parts, all of the post and reel foot screws, the entire worm assembly, the reel foot, and as well as installing a new spool and drags, the reel still cannot operate properly.

Currently, if I hold the reel with the nonhandle side to the ground and the handle side in the air, it will spin freely and turn with no issue. But if I hold the reel level or begin tilting towards the handle side, the reel will began making this horrid scraping feeling.

What have I missed? Could it be the pinion gear?  ???

RonRico

I have a Jigmaster that does that, I'd love to figure out why...
Steve from Florida

*Not actually named Ron*

*Not actually from St. Pomme de Terre*

RowdyW

The spool may be shifted to far to the right (handle side)because the adjustment on the bearing on the left side may have been over tightened for a period of time wearing the right side bearing & possibly the spool also. Try a new right side bearing & hope that the spool isn't worn to badly. When adjusting the left bearing the spool should have a little side to side play (.005 to .010").                         Rudy

cbar45

Quote from: AlcoholicFisherman on May 19, 2016, 05:33:37 AM

Currently, if I hold the reel with the nonhandle side to the ground and the handle side in the air, it will spin freely and turn with no issue. But if I hold the reel level or begin tilting towards the handle side, the reel will began making this horrid scraping feeling.

If the spool being too far to the right is the culprit, you might also try shimming the right-side bushing--or try a different spool.

oc1

He put in a new spool already.  Doesn't take long to spend the cost of a 209 on parts.