Reel Cleaning 101 : Grease, Corrosion, Salt.

Started by Danderson, March 22, 2011, 04:09:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Danderson

I'm fairly new to the Do-It-Yourself Reel Cleaning and maintenance program, Money is a little tight now a days and I just can't send them off to Alan and have no worries, Ive had scale back on the cash flow and have made attempts to do-it-myself.  I have had great success with my Shimano and Abu reels and have had a blast tearing them a-part and installing all new Carbonex Drag washers.  I have not ran into anything with heavy corrosion or old grease until tonight when I took a-part an Abu that my Dad has used for many years.  So my question is just little reel 101?  What is the most effective product to get mild corrosion off a reel and it's parts? What is your opinion on what product works best and cheapest on grease removal.  I have bought several new reels and I'm currently getting ready to break them a-part and upgrade the drag washers, do you clean the factory grease off like you would a reel that has 20 year old grease in it?

I'm just looking for a little 101 on cleaning side of the business, I want to also Thank Alan for the many reels he had maintained for me and also this great website to share his knowledge and the knowledge of many of it's members.  Thank you all very much for sharing and making this my go too website for Reel repair and maintenance.

Derek

alantani

an old toothbrush and some light oil might be the best place to start.  that's what i usually use. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Danderson

Thanks Alan, That is pretty much what i'am doing now and it works great, Other than the fact the Old Toothbrush I grabbed was my wifes new one she just got from the dentist...OOps.  Ohh well the price you pay when you marry a fisherman.

Derek

akfish

Vinegar gets rid of corrosion very well. CLR, a household cleaner , does too but is toxic. I use Salt-X in the shop.
Taku Reel Repair