Cost of having a rod refinished?

Started by FatTuna, November 30, 2016, 05:11:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FatTuna

After looking through Steelfish's thread, I'm considering having three of my rods refinished. I've never built a rod before and don't think that I should start with these.

My first thought was to sell these rods online as is and then buy new ones. I just sold my 80lb rods. Put them online and they sold in a couple of days for close to asking price. I'm thinking I could get close to $300 each for these. The new CMS rods I'm looking at are $480 each plus shipping. They are really nice. You can either have them built with 130lb butts and 80lb Calstar blanks or 130lb butts and 130lb Calstar blanks. That would mean I'm only spending $180 per rod to upgrade to brand new blanks, nice thread work, custom colors, brand new butts, etc.

A second option is that I could have these rods redone. I'm really happy with their performance, I'm just not happy with the aesthetics. They are soft and the right length. The problem is these rods all have a dull, matte look to them. I think it's due to sun fading. They are also very plain looking.

I'd like my tuna rods to have a design similar to the spinning rod shown in the pictures. That one is a brand new CMS custom.

What would be the cost of having them redone? Also, does anyone know of a builder that would be up to the job?

thorhammer

hey Tuna!

IMO, $180 each puts you on the hairy edge of rewrapping a big game blank as you indicate...could be more if the blank is repainted and refinished prior to wrapping due to labor...it's a PITA and takes several days to cure multiple coats of CP Extra over the new paint before you can wrap, IF you can get $300 out of a sale to base your delta on.