Penn Warfare 20N

Started by dogtagger, December 17, 2016, 11:38:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dogtagger

Hi all, I haven't posted here in a while, but reel maintenance season is upon us and of course this is always the first place I come! This is my first attempt at a reel review/tutorial. :o So here we go, a look at Penn's new Warfare 20N. You can check out the schematic at Scott's Bait and Tackle https://www.mysticparts.com/Assetsimages/pennparts/schematics/war20n.pdf.

Decent looking reel, about the same size as my Fin-Nor Offshore 16L, but a bit lighter due to the graphite frame and sideplates. The reel has a gear ratio of 5.1:1.

Of course the left side plate comes off first. There are just 4 stainless screws holding it on with what looks like a stainless ring. There's a little dab of grease, but not enough. We'll fix that.

You can see the spool has a bearing here, as well as one on the right side. I'm going to leave the shields on them so I don't bugger them up. I'll lube them with reel-x. Maybe I'll pull the shields off next winter. The click ratchet is held in place by a very small c clip. Careful taking that off.

I found this little gem between the click ratchet and the bearing. I couldn't see it at first until I checked the schematic which shows a felt washer... Hmmm. Once I got this off the bearing slid right off and I oiled it.

I use a toothbrush and sometimes a q-tip to get grease into narrow places. Even though this reel has plastic side plates and frame, I rub a bit of grease over everything anyway. Don't forget to grease the ring too. You can't see in this picture, but there is a brass thrust washer that controls end play.

Once you have the bearing lubed and a light coat of grease on the frame, side plate and spool, you can go ahead and put the side plate back together. I give the screws some grease.

Moving on to the right side, the first thing you will notice is the upgraded handle Penn used on this reel. Nice touch.