Corrosion X, Reel X, yamaha blue grease questions

Started by LetItFly, April 12, 2011, 07:06:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LetItFly

Hi Alan,

I'm a newbie to this site and general reel maintenance. I love fishing but growing, was never taught how to maintain reels other than rinsing them down good and little lube corrosion block here and there. Outsides only.  Just recently got out of a drought from fishing so now I'm trying to learn to do all my reel maintainences on my own.

So I have corrosion x only, I wanted to know what other greases or lubes I need to basically to a general reel service. I really don't need 10 different greases and lubes just to know the main ones that I need. Also where to apply what lubes/greases on reel parts and how much to put. Sorry for the simple questions to others but to me I just want to be sure. I seen here an there on the forums answers but I want it all to be in one just simpler for me... Selfish I guess haha.

What's the best tools to apply each lube and grease? Where to apply? Looking for casting abilities but doesn't need to be outrageously far.  Please help with some in information? Hopefully I can get the answer I was looking for to help me...

By the way, I love this site! Very informational and helpful.

akfish

You can get by with just two: Corrosion-X and Cal's Grease. Use the oil (Corrosion-X) for everything that turns fast (ball bearings, level winds, etc.) and the grease for things that move slow (gears) as well as to grease the drag washers and paint on internal metal surfaces. Cal's Grease isn't cheap so you can save a few bucks by using something else for everything except drag washers, but unless you do lots of reels, the money you save would be insignificant. I run a shop and use only 4 products: Corrosion-X, Speed-X as a faster oil, Cal's Grease and Penn X-1R grease, but really: Just two is all you need.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

LetItFly