TLD15 problems

Started by tinboat, January 18, 2017, 03:23:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tinboat

I'm a rookie who's had good luck servicing my Newell reels and Ambassadeurs thanks to this site, Thank you for the help!

Now I've started on my TLD15 (made in Japan version) and have a basic problem.  I can't budge the two click gear screws (key#49) that hold the click gear in place.

I've stopped trying, as I was starting to strip the heads.  I've ordered some better quality, precision screw drivers, but I could use some advice on how to proceed.  What can I do to loosen these guys? 

foakes

Good Morning, Tinboat, and welcome --

Sometimes, these screws have had a bit of loctite applied to the threads.

After you get the right size large handled screwdriver -- not a power bit driver in this case...Phillips screwdrivers have a few different designs -- some deeper, some wider, some sharper, etc.  Match the right driver to the screw before turning.

Secure the spool in a towel -- then with a good grip on the screwdriver and another on the spool -- try to "tighten" the screw just enough to break the bond -- then it should back out normally.

The more you mess with the screws -- the better the chance of having to replace them will be.

So you will only get a couple of chances -- glad you backed off when you did.

There are other possibilities -- but this works 90% of the time for me.

Best,

Fred
The Official, Un-Authorized Service and Restoration Center for quality vintage spinning reels.

D-A-M Quick, Penn, Mitchell, and ABU/Zebco Cardinals

--------

The first rule of fishing is to fish where the fish are. The second rule of fishing is to never forget the first rule.

"Enjoy the little things in Life — For someday, you may look back — and realize that they were the big things"
                                                     Fred O.

handi2

Right on Fred.

If you need 2 replacement screws please PM me your address and I will get them going your way.

Keith