How Do I Remove the Main Gear From A Penn 704Z?

Started by nathanbrand, April 24, 2011, 01:55:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nathanbrand

A friend of mine asked me to take a look at his 704Z. He was reeling line onto the spool when it suddenly seized up. He could no longer crank the handle. He said he was doing this under some drag pressure to lay the line on tight. He didn't force it and stopped reeling.

I figured I would disassemble it and grease and lube the reel, and see if that would resolve the problem. I started the disassembly, but I have no idea how to remove the main gear (part #8-704). I thought it would just slide out, but it's not budging. I've never worked on a 704 before, so I didn't want to force it. Does anyone know how this comes out? Am I missing a step? I have the AR switched off.

Some photos and schematic:

Thanks

And Happy Easter.

akfish

Odds are that the main gear is frozen to the hall bearing in the side plate. My recommendation is that you soak the side plate for a while and then gently tap out the gear.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

nathanbrand

Quote from: akfish on April 24, 2011, 02:33:44 PM
Odds are that the main gear is frozen to the hall bearing in the side plate. My recommendation is that you soak the side plate for a while and then gently tap out the gear.

akfish, thanks for the reply.

What should I soak the side plate in? I soaked it overnight in a citrus de-greaser, but that didn't seem to help.

Also, when you say, "gently tap out the gear," how would I go about that? (I've never done that before.)

Thanks

akfish