surfmaster 200 refurb

Started by wolvie, April 29, 2011, 04:53:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wolvie

First I confess to having lurked on the site for a while to educate myself about reels and have benefitted greatly from the tutorials and other information with which Mr Tani is so generous.  Thanks!

I have not maintained my own reels before, but have been prompted to dive in, so here I go.

I have an old surfmaster 200 that I am trying to tune up.  I have a power handle already, and I think I need the following parts (from the tutorials here and looking on mysticparts.com) to upgrade it:

#   Item
1   7C-60 Washer, Drag, Metal Drag Washers (SET of 3) (for surfmaster 200M)
3   6-60 Washer, Drag, HT-100® (for surfmaster 200M ( uses 3 ))
   (for some reason, the kit (6-60SP) is 7.60, but buying the parts separately is only 2.85 + 2.90 = 5.75 ???)

Can anyone help me out with the part number of the drag washer for replacing the fiber washer under the main gear?  Or should I not bother if I am not upgrading the sleeve to SS?

I also need some supplies since I have not maintained reels before, and will need for my 2 progear 545s and 2 penn 113h's :

1   6oz. Corrosion X Aerosol
1   Cal's Universal Grease, Tan, for Larger Reels (1 Ounce)
1   224SP Penn.25 fluid oz XR1 Penn Precision Reel Grease (until I locate some yamaha marine grease)
2   168-60 Wrench
2   168-115 Wrench

Do I need a mini-grease gun with the custom inflator needle fitting?  I cast with my reels, so I will use tsi on the bearings and only use the yamaha for the non-exposed metal parts.  I have an old toothbrush and if I lose that, 10 fingers . . .  ;D

My 113h's already have ht100's, but they still have the fiber washer under the main gear, so I think this is the part for the 113h's and I am thinking it will be the same for the 545, since they seem almost identical to the 113h - can anyone confirm this for me?

4   6-875 Washer, Drag Washer HT-100®