Penn 113 Black Side Upgrade

Started by bauer86, March 17, 2017, 06:35:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bauer86

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting on here and first time messing with a Penn Senator reel. I purchased a Penn 113 Black Side and I am aware that I probably in hind site should have gone with the 113H. That being said it is bought and I would like to upgrade this reel as much as I can. I have played around with spinning reels previous to this and look forward to half the fun being upgrading this new to me reel. So what can I do? I have already talked with Dawn over at smooth drag who will I will be getting some things from. She is actually the one who suggested I get on here to ask. But just wanted opinion on Tiburon frames, stainless gears, etc... Thanks in advance and I am really looking forward to this project.

Vintage Offshore Tackle

If you are planning to use the reel for any serious fishing, you should save your black 4/0 as a loaner reel and go get a 113H.  There is no comparison between the two.  The red 4/0 is more reel box stock than the black one would be after you poured a ton of money into upgrading it.  That's just my two cents.

bauer86

Hey thanks for reply. Yes, your probably right but honestly half the fun for me will be upgrading the thing. And I am actually bidding on some 113H's now so that will be next. And the 113 is bought and even if its a back up might as well make it as sweet as I can get it!

PacRat

Randy is giving some good advice but if you decide you want to build what you've got; do a search on this site for "Grouper Special". The black 4/0 has lower gears and low end grunt but that is offset by slower retrieve,  smaller drag and smaller gear sleeve.
Good luck and show it off when you're dome
-Mike

steelhead_killer

><)))">

otownjoe

I made the same mistake the first time I bought a 4/0. I thought I was saving money. I used the reel one time and have never used it since. Just my two cents. Joe

bauer86