Papa's old 155 Beachmasters

Started by bhale1, April 03, 2017, 01:06:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bhale1

Hello All,
This is my first attempt at putting in pictures.....so here goes! Shortly after joining the A.T. Ohana, I started thinking of what my first "project" would be.........simple for me because my girls had inquired about being able to go on half day boats with my on our two annual San Diego trips. I dug through their Papa's old reels and found 2 155's........perfect!

My first thought was to tear them down, clean, lube and reassemble. They were in good condition.

Thought I might as well upgrade to CF drags and better handles, so I contacted Dawn at Smoothdrag and "the boss" for two NOS 24-56 handles. Then I noticed that Alan C. (black pearl) had some nice aluminum spacer bars for squidders, and inquired whether they would fit my (girls :)) 155's. He said yes-- but I would need new spools and stands. He told me to PM Sal (Alto Mare) and consult. Long story short, ( I know too late!)--Sal said to throw them in a box and he would build them out for me. At his suggestion, I also had two 98-155 SS main gear sleeve and star combos from Tom at Cortez Conversions sent to Sal.  Wow!!! what a transformation! 2 very capable, awesome reels.

Oh yea--and did I mention Sal magged them and put reel clamps on for the girls also?

My girls are so happy!! they now have Papa's old reels but in a size that they can handle and that will last forever.

Thanks for looking and a big shout out to Sal from me, Samantha and Taylor!
Brett

bhale1

So I guess I still haven't figured out how to post pictures ???

Edit....But at least there are links.....How do I get the pic to just show up in post....Ughhbhb!!!???!@#%__
testing...
hey I might have got itnot sure if I can repeat tho...

sdlehr