Penn conventional reels! Agh!

Started by mangutzfish, May 18, 2011, 11:11:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

broadway

Determining how far you need to get your bait out will determine if the reel or the rod is the right gear for the task, but I did alright casting a 113HSP last year with a bait and 8 (bunker head or chunk with an 8 oz bank sinker on a 3 way) ...and I'm no pro at all.  The furthest was about 3o yards or so.  Use the 7 footer and the jig to start, but you'll get it.
Dom 

CapeFish

Seriously, you will never learn proper surf casting technique with a 7 ft boat rod, you are going to frustrate the living daylights out of yourself. Go and join a club or go to a tackle shop that can help you with the right rod.  :)

wallacewt

i live in southwest australia and dont have any idea about clubs in socal.some one on here may help,sorry

broadway

Capefish,  I agree with ya on that, but it's a place to start.  The rod won't load right and the reel isn't the ideal casting reel, but if he doesn't need to cast far (like jetty or pier fishing) it'll work.  If you need to get out past the third wave or a sand bar I would say he's gotta go with a 12 footer and a better reel for casting.  I don't know fish Tacos budget, but if money is an issue than make do with whatcha got.
Best of luck,
Dom

blktwr2660