Penn conventional reels! Agh!

Started by mangutzfish, May 18, 2011, 11:11:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mangutzfish

I'm very new to conventional reels.  Recently I found a Jigmaster and a 113HL on ebay really cheap.  Today I went out to Long Beach to practice casting.  Casting with the 113HL is work!  I think I could barely get about 10ft with 40# line and a 4oz weight.  With the Jigmaster, I got about 25ft on a surface jig.  Alot easier, but still nowhere near as much as with a spinning reel.  How far am I supposed to be able to cast with these things?  Can anyone give anyone give any pointers?

Norcal Pescador

Welcome aboard. You're on one of my favorite subjects: fish tacos! ;D 
Oh yeah, casting. The first thing is to check is the freespool time on your reels. If you're not freespooling at least 30 seconds, your reel needs help (a good cleaning, bearings lubed with a good reel oil and checking the bearings for end play adjustment). If your reels are okay, then it's a matter of practice, practice, practice. If you have your weight on about 3-4 feet of line hanging from the rod tip-top, that will give you a good amount of loading on the rod and inertia to get the weight out there on your cast. All of this helps to "educate" your thumb to the point of preventing backlash and not dragging the spool to a stop too soon. Soon you should be able to cast 50 feet without any problem then eventually 100 feet without difficulty. And the longer the rod the more leverage to get the lure/bait/sinker out there. Is the line fresh and relatively flexible? Practice with the Jigmaster and 20-25# line. When you get get much better, then it will be easier with the 40# line. It's still a bit of a challenge with the 40# just because it's stiffer and doesn't want to come off the reel or go through the guides as easily as a smaller diameter line.  Practice, timing, practice, movement, practice and hand/eye coordination, are all needed to get you there.