Saltist 50 problem (?)

Started by Beefer, May 26, 2011, 03:45:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beefer

I have a Saltist 50 (no letters that I can find on the box), and I think there is a problem with it, but it may be it's just the way it is. It's new to me, but I got it used.

When there is almost any amount of pressure on the line, the handle 'slips'. I can crank the handle, but the spool doesn't turn unless I add more drag. I took it apart last night, and everything looks ok, but I'm no pro. The inside was really clean, and well greased, and looks like it was taken care of, but it just doesn't seem like it's working right. I haven't changed the drag washers, they look great, but I plan on changing them with the smoooth drags if I can figure out with drag set I need.

Does this sound like a drag washer problem, or should I be looking at something else?

Bryan Young

When you say that the handle slips, does that mean the the handle turns backwards?
:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Beefer

No. When turning the handle reeling in, and there is resistance of any kind, the spool doesn't turn, even though the handle will. Hope that makes sense.  ???

CapeFish

It sounds like the drag is slipping, have you tightened the star drag?

Nessie Hunter

Alan would say:

Check for slipping Braided line also.....
Braid will slip on the spool, make sure thats not the problem first...
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....
WOW!!! WHAT A RIDE!

Beefer

I'm leaning to the drag being the problem. It's loaded with mono. I have to really crank down the drag to get the spool to turn, which doesn't seem right at all. Will (should/maybe) new drag washers fix this?

Alto Mare