Penn 50 Int

Started by turboal, June 03, 2011, 03:02:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

turboal

Hi Alan, how do you know if you need a thrust washer installed with the
bellevilles ? i am finally getting around to finishing this narrow 50 i started
building a while back. when i put in 5 bellevilles ((()) the drag gets really tight
when i push the lever. i can't push it all the way to full. the bellevile stack is only
about .010 or so larger without a thrust washer.
thanks, AL

Nessie Hunter

IM no expert on the Bellviles, but It seems to me that in that configuration you would get exponential pressure from the side with 3 washers that would take much more pressure to close up..
So in effect you are using the 2 washers against an immoveable 3 washers... ????
Keeping it to thick without compressing all the way...

Suggestions??? 
Might try (()) 4 washers or if you need a little more thickness,  ()() same 4 washers with equal compression......

ALAN!!!!     Help!!!   LMAO....

"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....
WOW!!! WHAT A RIDE!

Bryan Young

I believe that this is a natural tendancy with all lever drag reels.  I'm assuming that the reel still cranks when you move the lever forward to increase the drag.

What kind of drag are you getting at this level?  It may be more than you need, and you will need to back off the preset.

If you had ()() and switched to (()), the drag will ramp up, hypathetically, at least 30% faster.  For example, if you had 2 reels for comparision and one reel was set up at ()() and the other at (()), and both reels were set for a drag at 10# at strike.  At halfway to strike, ()() reel will have a lower drag resistance value than the other reel at (()).  (()) reel may achieve the same drag as ()() at a position less than half.