Penn international 80tw issue

Started by Noahg727, August 22, 2017, 03:14:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noahg727

A buddy of mine just purchased used 80tw and has been having issues with it. First of all, there's no smooth drag transition for it. It goes from basically free spool all the way up right before strike, then right at strike it changes suddenly to a ton of drag. No matter how much we tinkier with the preset, we still cant achieve a smooth gradient. Also, when the drag is set high enough to hold our weight, (we use it for land based shark fishing) the spool ever so slowly let's line off. Even if we turn the drag way up, it seems to do the same thing. What do you think the issue is? I know the thing hasn't been serviced in a while. I told him I'd attempt to service it, but I'm new to this and I'm not sure what is wrong with it. Bad bearing? Reorient the bellevile washers?

Bill B

Be patient brother someone will be along shortly with an answer.  Bill
It may not be very productive,
but it's sure going to be interesting!

FatTuna

The drag curve issue sounds like a belleville washer configuration issue to me. I'd crack her open. The TW is reasonably straight forward. It's a single speed which are easier.

I'm not clear on the second issue, is the reel not producing enough drag?

Might be worth investing in a new spring (41-50). Might as well swap out the bellevilles if you are going to service it. I'd separate the drag cam assembly clean and regrease.

Unfortunately a lot of the pictures on this site are down though due to the Photobucket issue.......

https://www.mysticparts.com/Assets/images/pennparts/schematics/80tw.pdf

"Edited as per Moderators to correct Scott's Bait & Tackle over to their new store name Mystic Reel Parts / www.mysticparts.com"

Tightlines667