Hello from Ventura CA

Started by xjchad, August 29, 2017, 11:23:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xjchad

Well I guess I'm kind of doing this backwards, but I figured since y'all have helped me so much already I ought to introduce myself.
I'm a husband to an amazing wife, father to 6 wonderful kids, and I love fishing.  For work I'm an engineer, and I love to fabricate and tinker with stuff.
I've been doing more and more tinkering and servicing of my own reels (spinning, baitcasting, and conventional) and have found an amazing amount of great info here!  I find that learning about and working on these reels is very relaxing and fun. 
I've been fishing ever since I can remember, mostly for trout with my dad and grandpa.  As a teen I started flyfishing and bass fishing.  I try to fish whenever and where ever I can, and love finding little hidden spots to catch anything available. 
Three years ago we moved from the high desert to the Ventura area for a new job.  Once I found out about surf fishing I fell in love with that too.
The last two years I've mostly been focused on land based big game fishing.  Targeting mostly sharks and rays.  Only been offshore a few times, but love being on a boat. 
Thanks again for all the help so far, I'm looking forward to all I'll continue to learn here!
Here's a couple of pictures of some of my recent catches. 

Husband, Father, Fisherman

swill88

Welcome Chad, glad you are here.

Steve

Swami805

Nice black sea bass from the beach. Really any BSB from the beach is nice. I'm right up the road in Santa Barbara. Looks like life is treating you well. I fish Goleta pier a bit,maybe float up here and wet a line, some decent thresher fishing once the crowds of summer thin out. Sheridan
Do what you can with that you have where you are

Bryan Young

:D I talk with every part I send out and each reel I repair so that they perform at the top of their game. :D

Bill B