Lost freespool after service my conventional reels

Started by wadefisherman, June 07, 2011, 09:08:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wadefisherman

Please help....

I just serviced couple conventional reels:  Jigging Master PE6 and Alutecnos Gorilla 12.  The problem I have is that both reels won't go into freespool when the lever is moved all the way back to the free position.  I have to hold the spool tight and give the handle a slight crank....then I have freespool.  What did I do wrong?  Does it have something to do with the preset knot or cam?  Thanks in advance for the advices.

Hadge

Hi there, I'm just a beginner at this but you must have something binding the spool. The list would be too long to talk about.
You will have to break them down again and look at every little part to fine the part that is in wrong. You just can't be to carful putting everything back. hope you fined it and good luck.
Hadge
???
Hadge

Nuvole

Happen to me when I newly greased bearings with tacky marine grease.
If that's the case, it will be fine after a while.
You may also wish to look at your clutch washer configuration, and clutch preset setting.

Alto Mare

Hello and welcome. Having the same problem on both reels that you worked on, leads me to believe that there is a problem with the re-assembly as Hadge mentioned, but it could be something else. Before getting too deep into it, I would recommend disassembling the reels and start all over :-\. If that doesn't do it, we're here to help. Good luck! Sal
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

wadefisherman