Soaking greasey parts

Started by Noviceman, October 21, 2017, 05:03:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noviceman

Hi...If this was addressed please let me know where....I am fairly new to this reel hobby and wondering why I havent read anywhere about soaking the greasey reel parts in gasoline?    See mineral spirits, simple green and few others.   Have used Gas for wheel bearings for trailers campers etc and always worked well.  always done outside etc... Other that flammable what is the consensus?    thanks as always for help

Jim from Wisconsin

akfish

Non-toxic Simple Green works for me.
Taku Reel Repair
Juneau, Alaska

Crow

I was a heavy equipment / farm equipment mechanic for over 50 years, and, I too washed a lot of parts in gasoline....and saw (or heard about) too many "accidents" using it. I do use fuel oil (diesel fuel) or kerosene for parts washing.....but only "outside"....for reel parts (or other small items that I want to do "inside") I use either simple green...or one of the 'Zep" products, as they "don't stink up the place", do a very good job, are more "enviourment friendly", are easier to dispose of, and, actually last quite a while....a gallon will clean a LOT of parts .
There's nothing wrong with a few "F's" on your record....Food, Fun, Flowers, Fishing, Friends, and Fun....to name just a few !

sdlehr

This has been addressed somewhere here, I believe I asked the same question a few years ago.