LATEST 330 gt2 PENN REELS

Started by Ken_D, July 11, 2011, 04:33:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken_D

Hi, Folks.... re the above. Wow. Who drilled the hole in the driveshaft to fit the bridge ???  There's now as much freeplay in a brand-new GT2, as there is in a 10 year old USA 330 !!!

In a "pinch", I used an Abu driveshaft shim under the driveshaft to bring the freeplay down. (One of the thin shims from an older Abu, either P/N 3904, or 3915, depending on how stupid the clearance is.

I have no knowledge, or tools, to rectify this issue, and am wondering how you folks have dealt with this.
Thanks. Ken.  PS: if this topic has already been discussed, I can't find it. kd.

alantani

you're talking about up and down play in the gear sleeve, right?  i have an assortment of washers from mcmaster.com and i use those to shim the gear sleeve. 
send me an email at alantani@yahoo.com for questions!

Ken_D

Hi, Alan, yes. The up/down clearance. By the time the play reaches the handle, it's intensified. Looks like I'm on the right track then. 

Sidebar: As at year 2009, when I requested parts, McMaster-Carr refused to do business with me, as I'm Canadian.  No reason was given, except to say they don't do business w/Canada.  If they have changed, great.

alantani

probably not.  i have an account, though.  let me know what you need and i can order it, then ship it to you. 

seaeagle2

Quote from: Ken_D on July 11, 2011, 07:31:40 PM

Sidebar: As at year 2009, when I requested parts, McMaster-Carr refused to do business with me, as I'm Canadian.  No reason was given, except to say they don't do business w/Canada.  If they have changed, great.
Probably cause it can be a real headache to ship stuff to Canada.  During the Canada Post strike, I Fed Ex'ed my Canadian Income tax forms  ( Me and my  brother rent out a cabin on a piece of property), and it was amazing the declarations, etc, required for a government form.....
"One life, don't blow it" Kona Brewing