Johnson/Evinrude Marine Grease...

Started by Nessie Hunter, November 12, 2011, 04:47:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nessie Hunter

I have been using the LubriMatic Marine grease for about 6 years.  
It has served me and many customers well.  Works great..

I recently began to get low, and now have Alans Bearing Packer that I have used a couple of times.  I like it, so much easier then packing them by hand!!!!

Any way, I ordered the Johnson/Evinrude Marine Grease mainly because it was mentioned here as an alternative to Yamaha, and it comes in the 3 oz cartridges for convenience of use...

It came Fri (yesterday) via UPS....  I was kind of excited as I have 2 reels waiting for it since Thur (plus some smoothdrag parts)...

Well When I opened it and took a tube out to look at, feel & touch, I was alittle surprised!!!

Its RED......   Not Blue as I expected????  
Not a problem, as I will always know if I was in any reel that I service now..  
Kind of a signature color???    LOL

Cleaning out the old crappy grease from the gun and getting into these 2 reels this morning..

"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intentions of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body. But rather to slide in sideways, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming....
WOW!!! WHAT A RIDE!

Alto Mare

Nassie, how is the consistency of the Johson Evinrude grease compared to the lubriMatic and Yamaha. I hear of guys thinning grease down  with power steering fluid for packing bearings, but I've never tried it. :-\
Forget about all the reasons why something may not work. You only need to find one good reason why it will.

Nessie Hunter

It is very tacky/sticky, more so then any grease I have dealt with before..
Just cleaned out the old stuff in gun and ran a bead of this RED stuff through...

Feels about the same thickness, but stickier..   
I think it will be excellent for staying power.... (hope so anyway)