Okuma Cavalla 15-II vs. Fin-nor offshore OFC30L star drag

Started by Inspiro, December 06, 2011, 05:19:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Inspiro

Dear all
I'm considering adding a conventional reel to be used for medium-heavy jigging (several species)and sometimes bottom fishing mainly for groupers

I'm considering one of the other options, price in Egypt is very close
First is the Cavalla 15 two speed, but I'm new to jigging, so I have some questions:
Is it suitable for Jigging?
Is the "silent anti reverse" strong enough for jigging?
Is it suitable for usage with braided line?

The other option is the Fin-nor offshore OFC30L star drag

Things I like about the Cavalla:
T-handle
Lever drag
Two speed will come in useful to winch groupers while bottom fishing

Things where the Fin-nor has an edge(slightly)
Stronger drag(35 vs 32)
Lighter weight(25 vs 28.7)
Higher line capacity

Here are the specs for the two for your reference:

Cavalla 15-II
•   6061-T6 machined aluminum frame with forged aluminum side plates,
•   helical cut gears,
•   greased Carbonite drag system,
•   proprietary silent anti-reverse system
•   patented T-Bar handle
•   two-speed: 4.7:1 & 2.0:1
•   4 Ball bearings
•   Line Capacity: 550/20, 410/25, 310/30
•   Max drag at strike:24
•   Max Drag:32
•   Weight:28.7

Fin-nor OFC30L star drag:
•   Diecast aluminum body and side covers.
•   Machined aluminum spool.
•   Overiszed stainless steel main gear.
•   Brass pinion gear.
•   Infinite Anti-Reverse with backup pawl and ratchet.
•   5 Stainless steel bearings.
•   4.3:1 gear ratio
•   Mono line capacity:365/40
•   Braid line capacity: 675/65
•   Weight:25 oz
•   Max Drag: 35

Your opinions is very appreciated
Regards
Inspiro

alantani